What's new
What's new

Inconsistent results on a Blanchard 20C

billgunsmith

Plastic
Howdy, all. I'm having a problem with getting smooth flat surfaces on our old blanchard. i'm finding it doesn't matter if it's steel, cast iron, thick, thin, short, tall, whatever. the issue is that i can run one part and both sides will come out smooth. can run the next part and it will come out rough, though the patter looks perfect. one part can come out exactly to size. the next one? eh, .002 short. the only consistency i'm getting is that just about every part is high towards the middle.
we've focused on the wheel dressing. it hasn't yielded any positive results beyond a part or two. i have no experience with these monsters, and the folks with experience here have only run'em, never dug any deeper. any words of wisdom or ideas would be greatly appreciated. thanks, men

I only have limited experience so far. If the parts are all high towards the middle, you'll want to check both, how flat/true the chuck is, and if the wheel/column is trammed in okay. A straight edge is required to check the chuck surface. As for some parts smooth, some parts rough, I don't know. Unless the different parts are different materials. We are normally grinding hardened steel, and have the segments that are good for that. If we try to grind mild steel, it doesn't break the segments down as well, and leaves a different surface.

Sounds like the head needs trammed. Are you moving the table in and out during grinding? Ideally you place the table under the head so it grinds the whole part(s) at a one point. Different surface finishes could be wheel segments loading up. Usually a fresh dress (on 36 grit or so) will give you a more pronounced cross hatch with a coarser 'feel'.

oh no. i don't mess with the table once the grinding starts. so far everyone has mentioned the head. that's been a suspicion of mine for a while. not even sure we have the wrench for it, poor old machine.