What's new
What's new

Jones & Shipman 540 APR from 1986 - need manual for evaluation

ballen

Diamond
Dear Grinder Gurus,

I'm going to have a look at a used Jones & Shipman 540 APR surface grinder from circa 1986. It would be great to have a manual to study first. If someone has scan that they could share with me, please send me a PM, and I'll provide an email address.

In the model number, I think the "P" means up/down powerfeed, and the "A" might mean auto crossfeed return. Is that right? Does anyone know what the "R" is for?

This is the model with a lot of controls mounted to an electrical cabinet hanging off the left-hand-side of the machine. Here is a snapshot. It would be helpful to know what they do.

attachment.php

Cheers,
Bruce

Last edited:
Since no one responded to my message, I decided to post some photos. After seeing these, and a short video of the spindle and feed in operation, I did something that I have never done before: bought the machine without inspecting it myself in person.

I wrote to Andmar UK (who provide service and spare parts) and they responded as follows:

"The APR Means - an electrical driven auto-reversing saddle is the major feature of the 540APR. Cross feed motion can be applied at either continuous or intermittent feed rates, and can be integrated with downfeed applications to offer an automatic grinding cycle. So it Mean Auto Down Feed with Reversing Saddle."

The machine is being shipped and should reach me in a week or two. I would still be grateful for a manual if someone has a scan so I can start looking at it now. The original documentation comes with the grinder.

Here is the overview:
attachment.php

The controls:
attachment.php

Downfeed and magnetic chuck controls:
attachment.php

Grinding wheel and permanent electromagnetic chuck:
attachment.php