What's new
What's new

Landis 4H O.D. Grinder

zr1nsx

Aluminum
I just obtained a 40's vintage Landis that appears to be in excellent condition, but I have no experience with the Landis grinders. I've used Brown and Sharpe and Studer in the past, but these were more modern machines. Everything appears to work on the machine, but again having no practical experience with it, I will more than likely have a gazillion questions. If anyone here has one I would like to talk with you about these machines. I do have a basic operators manual that was provided with the machine, but it is very basic. Would love to find a original parts and diagram manual.

Used the old Landis last week to grind 25 parts and was amazed at how well this old "war machine" works. Was able to hold .0002 on size and straightness with little effort. The only issue I had was that the grinding wheel spindle housing gets real hot after 4-5 hours of use and I did have to adjust to compensate for growth, but very little (.0003) during the course of the job.
Is it normal for the casting go get hot enought that it's uncomfortable to hold you hand on it?? The oil sight glass in the front of the casting shows plenty of oil and it is circulating when the spindle is turning. I'm quite suprised that the repeatability of the machine was as good as it was, considering how much heat the head is generating.

I've got a Landis 12x28 universal. Old clunker, but a ''dead on'' machine. What kind of questions do you need answered? The only thing I don't like is , it doesn't have dwell.
Hmmm, bearings heating up? Maybe to tight? To heavy of oil? Mine will run all day without hardly any rise in temp.
Pete Pheil who owns Amcorp has knowledge and parts for these old timers.
248 348 3001