What's new
What's new

Magnetic chucks and fixturing on a grinder

rimcanyon

Diamond
I’m fairly new at surface grinding, and one of the things I really don’t have a good feel for is how to safely use a magnetic chuck for grinding. My grinder is a Harig 612 with a Walker 6x12 magnetic chuck.

Should all work be blocked to stop it from slipping on the mag chuck? I.e. the chuck has a couple of fences for that purpose, but what if you are grinding thin work or small work like shims or washers, or if the work overhangs the ends of the mag chuck?

What if the work needs to be supported or blocked off the grinding table, how to do it? I.e. there are no t-slots on the grinding table for clamps or t-nuts. I have some parallels that are for a mag chuck, but how do I determine whether enough magnetism is transmitted through the parallels to hold the work securely.

Can a magnetic chuck be drilled without damage to the magnetism? I recently bought a 5x10 chuck that I plan to mount on a 5x10 sine table that hinges on the 5 side. The chuck has a fence on the 10 side, but none on the 5 side, and I want to add a fence so that I can grind gib stock.

The magnetic transfer parallels will work just fine for holding your work up off the chuck. It doesn't matter a whole lot if they weaken the field a little, just block in behind your workpiece with those blocks mounted directly on the mag chuck. You ought to always block thin work. On those parts with larger surface area and/or thicker cross sections you can sometimes get away without blocking in. You can generally use a scrap piece of thin steel or even some washers to block in thin stuff. Be careful not to overheat (to the point of burn marks especially) your work or it may warp and then the chuck will have even less holding power.