What's new
What's new

Needing Help Identifying Piece of my MG12 Grinder

largede

Plastic
Good afternoon,

This is my first post on this forum but I am in dire need for some assistance. I work as a manufacturing engineer for an electric motors company. I was recently tasked to move facilities and duplicate capabilities. I bought the same equipment running in the other facility. I bought a MyFord MG12 HP. When the operators and I went to check out its performance the operator noticed a missing piece compared to the other facilities grinder. In the photo below is the piece I am trying to find. I contacted Jubilee Machine tool for information and they assured me it is not a product of theirs. Also, all the good ol boys from the other shop can't seem to find it either. Can anyone send me an URL or a name to lead me in a better direction. I have found (I believe) a plausible alternative from Bison centers https://www.smalltools.com/bison-2-mt-ultra-precision-adjustable-live-center-7-567-002/ but I am afraid it will not perform to the same as the one in the photo below.

Adjustable center.jpg

That does not look to be a live center,rather a dead center held in some form of collet. With the drive dog there this must be on the work head which revolves which needs a dead center. A live center is normally used on the foot stock [tail stock] and not normally used in grinder applications anyway.