What's new
What's new

Okamoto service engineer- ask me anything

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tbone762

Plastic
I work for an Okamoto factory authorized dealer. We sell new & used Okamoto I.D., O.D. & surface grinders as well as factory spec rebuilds. I personally scrape, build, install, troubleshoot, service, rig/ deliver & train operators. I have been working on Okamoto machine tools for ~15 years. Ask me anything

Generous offer, glad to have your expertise here.

I'm sure you're aware, but just in case - thick skin and a sense of humor are a great help here. We have a few folks who seem to delight in taking others down, once you see their intent you can chose to ignore them.

Fanuc 15 control

What kind of failure can give you simultaneous plus and minus overtravel alarms on every single axis ?

400 mm Okamoto gear grinder, 1996, Fanuc 15 control, blurry photo, sorry :

View attachment 320452

While I have never had the pleasure of working on an Okamoto gear grinder, I welcome the challenge.
I recently encountered this exact issue on an IGM-4NC running the Fanuc 15T-a control.
I do not have schematics handy for this exact model but should be similar. Inside electrical cabinet, Look for the setup module with (2) relays per axis. These are typically labeled -Z/ +Z, -X/ +X, etc. This board is responsible for carrying the E-stop string & the N/C stroke limit switch circuits to the Fanuc I/O units giving the all clear to run. In my experience, If this board is damaged or shorted you will get over travel alarms in all axis.
Secondly, one or more of the Fanuc I/O units may be in a failed state. I have also come across this in similar instances.
Have you experienced any power failures, brown-outs or backup battery failure?

I recently encountered this exact issue on an IGM-4NC running the Fanuc 15T-a control.