What's new
What's new

Planning To Make My Own Lapping Machine. Any Suggestions?

#5 ii Alive!

Aluminum
Howdy, Everyone. Thanks so much for this amazing forum and all the incredible knowledge here.

I've decided to make my own small lapping machine. I don't need something huge, with a lot of HP, so I don't think this will be too challenging.

I need no larger than an eight-inch disc, and there are a lot of great YT vids on how to make one. Before I do, however, I always like to research and pick brains. If anyone has done this, or know someone who has, or knows of a link or vid that might help, I'd be much obliged.

Below I've pasted a photo of the basic machine I'm trying to copy. This is a benchtop unit that everyone and their mother sells. In fact, it's so ubiquitous that even the dang photo is exactly the same, no matter the name plastered on the front.

Appreciate any suggestions you may have.

lnGLoll.jpg

NO problem. I can figure it out, but I'm not a mechanical whiz kid. Vids and/or written plans, if already posted on a site somewhere, would vastly cut down my learning curve.

Thanks.

Trust me on this one, you need the learning curve.

I have no problem with a learning curve. I'm not sure why you feel the need to keep busting my chops. I came here for help, not resistance. I can get that anywhere.

I belong to a lot of different forums in a lot of different industries, where I help a number of people with suggestions and ideas. I'm determined, single-minded, professional, stubborn, and focused. I WILL do this. But to say, "Look at the picture and figure it out." Really? This is your idea of "help?" People around here have always been amazingly helpful around here. Until now.