What's new
What's new

Searching For Elementary Books on Surface Grinding

Apostle

Aluminum
I've recently acquired my first surface grinder, a Harig 612. It's been quite an experience restoring the machine and I'm writing my story for later posting.

I'm a serious hobbyist that's searching for a book(s), perhaps a textbook, that covers the use of surface grinders. I have books on lathes, mills, etc, but have not been able to find a comprehensive book on the use of surface grinders.

Typical stuff I'm looking for; achieving best finish, safe use of thin cutoff wheels, wet vs dry, feeds vs finish, etc, etc.

Can anyone recommend a comprehensive book on using the surface grinder? I'd truly appreciate a list of titles.

Mike

BTW, I've searched through the threads here and have downloaded the DoALL manual (some good info) and the brochure on Grinding HSS (also good info). Want more info..

I've recently acquired my first surface grinder, a Harig 612. It's been quite an experience restoring the machine and I'm writing my story for later posting.

I'm a serious hobbyist that's searching for a book(s), perhaps a textbook, that covers the use of surface grinders. I have books on lathes, mills, etc, but have not been able to find a comprehensive book on the use of surface grinders.

Typical stuff I'm looking for; achieving best finish, safe use of thin cutoff wheels, wet vs dry, feeds vs finish, etc, etc.

Can anyone recommend a comprehensive book on using the surface grinder? I'd truly appreciate a list of titles.

Mike

BTW, I've searched through the threads here and have downloaded the DoALL manual (some good info) and the brochure on Grinding HSS (also good info). Want more info..

Machine Shop practice Volume 2 (Moltrecht ) has a lot of good stuff on specifically grinding wheels, fairly comprehensive overview to help one find one's feet before causing major mayhem.