What's new
What's new

testing used surface grinder

enen

Plastic
HI
Im looking at an old Brown and Sharpe surface grinder

Ive read the posts on how to test a grinder to see if its worn out but honestly, a lot of the info was either conflicting or just didn't sink into my thick skull. Im not a machinist by trade, just a hobbist so im self teaching

I originally thought of grinding one side of a 1 inch square bar, then the opposite side and mic ing the length.
Ive now read that this wouldn't be very good . Next thought was use two 1 inch square bars, grind one side of each and lay them together and check for gaps.

Am I heading in the right direction or is there a simplier way?
thank you

[Brown and Sharpe surface grinder] one of the very top choices in SGs.)

Take your own diamond, a piece of mild steel, indicator, good like new (6 or 8" flat hone, dead flat bar, if possible a friend who is a grinder hand.to look at a machine under power ...

Tough to test a SG to tenths flatness. Buyimg from the owner/user is good so you can ask questions and hope for honesty.

To feel the chuck front long-edge and the cross-way edge to the right side edge with a known dead flat bar may tell the last chuck grind made flat.
Some may say grind feel or indicator feel a gage block set about the chuck...but if the chuck is belly or bow this check may feel good when the machine is a little off.
So perhaps these two test should be done.. know the chuck is dead flat from its last grind and then that moving under the chuck to find all places are the same..
Yes then to test the spindle with a sound rod and a test grind surface finish...using a hand spray bottle if the machine does not have coolant.
set the wheel on a wood block and test the down feel nut..a half hand-wheel turn means it need to be replaced.
Many a decent grinder will have considerable cross feed sloop and still be an ok/good grinder.