What's new
What's new

Titanium grinding wheel recommendation

praff

Aluminum
Can someone recommend a wheel for grinding grade 5 titanium??

I am grinding small parts to be flush with another surface. Probably grind less than 15 thou total and like i said it is a small part (1”x2” ish). I am grinding on a boyar schultz manual machine and like to grind dry. If I absolutely need to use mist coolant, I will, but definitely would rather not. I grind in about .0005” doc and speedy across x axis and take my time moving in y axis. I am using a general purpose open grain structure wheel now that I use to grind 4140 without issue. When using it for titanium, it wants to load up and generate quite a bit of heat. My instincts tell me to go harder in wheel hardness, but I am a newbie to grinding and not sure.

Recommendations from someone would be a great help so I dont end up buying a bunch of wheels to find one to work. Thanks in advance.

We have had luck with a Norton 1/2" wide X 7" Norton 46H (brown in color)on titanium. It won't hold a sharp corner but gets rid of stock. You didn't mention the type of wheel that is loading up. 60 grit and up will probably be too hard but not everyone grinds the same.

We have had luck with a Norton 1/2" wide X 7" Norton 46H (brown in color)on titanium. It won't hold a sharp corner but gets rid of stock. You didn't mention the type of wheel that is loading up. 60 grit and up will probably be too hard but not everyone grinds the same.

Perfect!!! Thanks for recommendation, I will give one a shot. I haven’t been in shop for past couple days so I dont have specs on the wheel I have been using. It’s a norton and I believe around 60grit open structure type wheel (pink) but I am not sure what hardness is on it.

I have used an air cool gun for such work with some success on jobs not using coolant.

Cold Air Guns, Nozzles | Industrial Spot Air Cooling Equipment