What's new
What's new

tolerance requirements for grinding machine ways

Luke Rickert

Hot Rolled
Hi all am looking into having my Schaublin 135 bed reground. There is a mixture of mystique and magic around these machines but I would like to get a good handle on the facts without the BS. What do I need to require of the grinding house to achieve the performance this machine is capable of by design.

I am a fairly experienced mechanical engineer but do mostly analysis have never done drawings for grinding or all that much GD&T for that matter so it seems like the people actually do the grinding might know more about what goes into getting the results.

Those of you who do precision way grinding what are the typical ways of defining the result (straightness over a distance, flatness ... ) surface finish (Ra etc)

This is in Europe but I can deal with inch dimensions (being born and raised in the USA)

Once setup, scraped, leveled etc the machine should be able to cut extremely straight (say 0,002mm over 200mm) or 0.0001 inch in 8 inches. The bed is going to need to be better than that I presume, so something like 0,001mm over 500mm with a very fine surface finish (RA 0,4 or better)

Any thoughts?

thank you

Luke

the bed in question is shown in these drawings: Schaublin 135 Bed.pdf - Google Drive

Good luck finding someone to grind to the specifications needed
Ruemema tried to outsource the grinding in Germany He never got the results he wanted
The only shop I would thrust is indeed Ruemema
If you want to bring that machine back to original specs be prepaired to buy €20000 or more in new parts
its not only the ways and saddle that make these machines this accurate

Peter

Get it from the horses moth and call these German companies that I taught scraping classes at. One thing to remember when your grinding that close is you have to scrape the part that mags to the chuck flat first to avoid twisting the part when they pull it down.