What's new
What's new

Lil OT: No longer a Mechanic. Now a 3D printer?

david n

Diamond
Some most of us have been there.
Them: "What do you do for a living?"
Me: "I'm a machinist."
Them: (99 times outa 100) "Oh do you work on cars?"
Me: I go on to the lengthy explanation of what I do and what I make.
Them: Empty blank smile and a nod. (They have no flippin clue)

Now it's:
Me: I go on to the lengthy explanation of what I do and what I make.
Them: (All smiley and a semi expert) "So you do 3D printing then?"
Me: Face palm.

I've had that response from a whole handful of people lately. Maybe it's better then being a mechanic?

I'm so fucking tired of 3D printing.

I suppose it's how CNC guys felt 10 years ago when cheap PC based CNC retrofit became possible, and everyone with $200 and an internet connection thought they were CNC machinists.

I don't think I have seen anything printed on a hobby level machine that was suitable for use as anything but a decoration. And they don't even look good. Terrible resolution, weak materials, limited shapes.

Real 3d printing is pretty cool, but it's not a DIY project.

I love when they say " so what does a machinist do? I've never seen anything made by a machinist ! "

The 3D thing with the common folks is a continuity of proof of how little the majority of people know about how stuff really gets made. Now they all think they'll be printing stuff like in Star Trek in their garage, while not realizing that most of them can't figure out which end of a screw driver to hold.

I think there's gonna be very good business in prosthesis manufacturing in the future.

I think when people tell me they work for the gov I'm gonna start asking them what being a "non essential employee " involves :D

I'm so fucking tired of 3D printing.

I suppose it's how CNC guys felt 10 years ago when cheap PC based CNC retrofit became possible, and everyone with $200 and an internet connection thought they were CNC machinists.