What's new
What's new

1930s Leblond 20x60" Belt Drive, Am I asking for trouble?

salem747

Plastic
Hi Guys,

I am just getting started in the hobby and have been looking for a lathe and knee mill.

I like old cool stuff as much as the next guy but would I be asking for problems with a machine like this? It comes with lots of tooling 3 chucks, is basically local to me and is single phase 5hp. (I am in BC, Canada, so that makes things really tough)

00o0o_da4Rw4PfUqSz_0CI0pR_1200x900.jpg01616_aWryEUrc3SEz_0CI0pR_1200x900.jpg00R0R_3gu6FtHVS9yz_0CI0pR_1200x900.jpg

What are you making? Tiny parts and that machine will be a little cumbersome.

On the other hand if restoring similar sized large equipment it could be handy. I doubt such a machine would have much of a value above scrap around here but your location may be different.

Sent from my SM-J737V using Tapatalk

Use it - fix it if needed.

Do note the brazed carbide tooling has mostly been on display - you'll need the typical Baldor double end diamond wheel grinder to have your way with such tooling - I expect such grinders in good shape / well equipped are worth more than the lathe

The lathe is from the twenties

Here is its big (25") brother in North Dakota

00000_2HmD01XMIzx_1200x900.jpg00505_iiKQhNpqceX_1200x900.jpg

Very high quality lathe. Depends a lot on what you want to do with it. If you decide to get it try to find out if a steady rest is on hand to go with it, because that won't be a common item (although you may be able to adapt one from another machine.

Any lathe is better than none, an old one is better than a horror freight one. And like rabbits, if you have one, more will soon show up! Happy machining!

I mostly do automotive stuff and fabrication. Originally I was thinking a 1340 kind of lathe and this one popped up, so it is definitely stretching my space and the needs I have for size.