What's new
What's new

1940’s-50’s machinist tool chests

Flapjack

Plastic
I’ve searched high and low and can’t seem to find an answer for this, so I’m hoping someone here might know.

Most “old” tool chests I see seem to be the 7 drawer top chest models. That got me thinking, did machinists back then in the 40’s and 50’s just not have as many tools? Seems like most guys these days have gigantic roll aways stuffed with tools. I can’t say I’ve ever seen a roll away box pre 1960’s.

Did most “average” machinists back then fit it all in a gerstner or Kennedy 7 drawer?

There are worker tools, and employer-supplied tools.

The point at which those divide may have changed, and also depends on what the worker does. And that obviously affects how big (and heavy) the toolbox would be.

I'll agree with JST.

I'm not a machinist / tool maker but at the plant I retired from as an engineering manager I don't recall any of the tool makers having more than a standard tool box - Gerstner Journeyman size in most cases as I recall. Company maintained a VERY well equipped tool crib - but it had always been that way from what my Dad told me. He had stared in the same company in 1941 as a machinist setup man. And the tool makers were the only people in the plant who had personal tools on site. Everything else was company furnished totally, no matter what your job was.

In comparison the people who maintained the aircraft we had on site had to supply their own tools, and most of them had very large roll arounds.

Crazy thing is it was the same corporation, just different divisions. But the 'heritage' was definitely different - in more ways than just who provided what tools.

Dale

Last edited: