Page 3 of 42 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I'm not a structural engineer so consider yourself warned. A simple calculation with SYP design values for your 17' beam shows it would hold a little over 4,000 lb. Note that this treats your beam as if it were a single piece of wood with adequate support at the ends and is under a point load in the middle with no twist. I think your steel I beam could be useful though. Vestil sells an 10ft wide 8,000 lb load gantry crane (FHS-8-10) that uses a 8" tall by 4" wide I beam. I'm not sure how thick the I beam they use is but, if it is a standard I beam, it should be about the same as yours.

2. Likes swatkins liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by true temper View Post
    Steve, can we get a better photo of the beam in your shop? Sure wish I lived near, I have a bunch of I beams and other good stuff in my junk yard. It's going to take some planning to get the column stood up, to lay it down we had a loader, forklift, and a farm tractor to tie it off to. And did I mention plenty of room to work.
    20160310_094931_resized_1.jpg20160310_095019_resized_1.jpg

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by swatkins View Post
    The I-Beam I have is 8" tall with 4" flanges. The flange is 1/4" thick at the very edge and gets thicker toward the web. Plate thickness between the flanges is also 1/4"
    S 8 X 18.4 Lb. Only has 14.4 Section Modulus per Manual of Steel Construction by A.I.S.C.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by johnoder View Post
    S 8 X 18.4 Lb. Only has 14.4 Section Modulus per Manual of Steel Construction by A.I.S.C.
    John do you have the charts or formulas to convert that to how much load the beam will carry with a 10' span?