What's new
What's new

2AM tool holders and collets: who wants them?

M.B. Naegle

Diamond
https://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/antique-machinery-and-history/new-old-iron-day-ames-triplex-multi-machine-362772/
I recently acquired an Ames Triplex multipurpose machine with a lack of tool holders. It uses the 2AM spindle system (looks like a long 3C). I'm planing on building my own, but want to see what kind of interest there is if I were to do a short run of assorted holders. I'm getting a print drawn up based off of my own spindle measurements and standard tool holder specs (such as are found in Machinery's Handbook). I plan to us 4140 for everything but the emergency collets, but will only be hardening specific tool holders. All tools will include the slot for locating inside the spindle. The collets will take the longest to do as I do not yet have a way to cylindrical grind them. Likewise, I'll only be making round collets as I have no experience or means to make precision square or hex bores.

Eventually, I want to make the following:

-1/2", 3/4", and 7/8" horizontal arbors. Soft 4140. Will utilize driving slot on spindle face and tail stock end will use a simple center. Right hand nut included. Length to be determined, but will make as long as the Triplex allows. If there are other applications for different lengths, I can make them.
- J1 and J2 taper drill chuck arbors. Soft 4140.
- 3/8-24 threaded drill chuck arbors. Soft 4140.
- Weldon style end mill holders in 1/8" sizes up to 1/2". 4140 hardened to 50-60 RC. Plan to cylindrical grind taper and ID after heat treating.
- Emergency soft collets. Soft CRS (1018 or similar). 1/8" pilot with boring pin holes, will thread ID of collet to allow for stops.
- Round hardened collets in sizes up to 1/2", 4140 hardened to 50-60 RC. Will thread ID of collet to allow for stops. Plan to cylindrical grind taper and ID after heat treating.
- Dead center, to be used for between-centers lathe work. 4140 hardened to 50-60 RC.