What's new
What's new

4 Flat Belt Machines Kijiji ad

Sachmanram

Stainless
Hello all,

I came accross this ad the other day and will attempt to post the link to the ad to see if there is any interest and if anyone can come up with any ideas of manufacturer's names. I am at least a couple of hours from the seller and have no affiliation to the ad nor the seller.

It looks like there is a 7' lathe, a drill press, a grinder with a table and what looks like a milling machine that has been converted to a surface grinder. I am fairly new to metalworking machinery and can't tell you much more. The pictures will speak for themselves.

Here it goes...

Vintage Machining Tools (1920's) - New Brunswick Collectibles For Sale - Kijiji New Brunswick Canada.

Brian

The "surface grinder/mill" is scrap, but the rest is interesting, especially the grinder with the big 24" wheel perpendicular to the table. I am very sure that is a grinder for sharpening woodworking planer and jointer blades or shear blades. If that one were closer, I'd be on my way to pick it up right now.

Hello Hope,

I talked to the owner today and he tells me that the big grinder was used to sharpen blades for a stone quarry nearby. I have no idea just how these blades were used, but I plan on taking a drive out there tomorrow to have a closer look and will take some better pics. I'll be back as soon as I can with an update.

Best regards... :)

Brian

Hi Brian ,
I think this grinder Vintage Machining Tools (1920's) was probably built for grinding the slotted knives for the old style wood planers and wood chippers but could also have been used for other things.
Maybe you will find a manufacturers name some where on it somewhere.
I may have seen something similar in an old wood working shop or at a machinery dealer some where but it isn’t one that I recognize .