What's new
What's new

Advise on possible purchase of Clausing 6913

Any thoughts on the Clausing 6913? Total newbie to machining but not to mechanics in general.
Here's the link Facebook Marketplace: USA MADE REDUCED Clausing 6913 14x40 Single Phase 220 volt Lathe Open to Offers - Tools - Charlotte, North Carolina

I was really hunting down a good deal for a milling machine as that's what I want first but read up that this is a decent machine and also pretty decent for gunsmithing.:D

As I don't know anyone in the machining world, this forum has became my new best friend!

Ad reads as follows "Clausing 6913 14x40 Single Phase 220 volt Lathe. Harden ways. Has 3 jaw chuck, 4 jaw chuck, and face plate. the lathe runs but The vari-speed cylinder needs bleeding not sure about anything else. I just don't have time to work on it and needing room in the shop. Asking $2850 OBO"

Thoughts, suggestions? I do want a decent mill and lathe but was planning on a mill first but if a good deal comes along I don't want to pass on it. A.jpgAA.jpgAAA.jpgAAAA.jpgAAAAA.jpg

Looks like a nice starter size and easy to power and therefore the premium price. I recommend you study the archives on how to assess the condition of a used lathe when buying. Understand that the logic on these old machine tools is a bit inverted, bigger tends to be less expensive because it's more difficult to move and to power. If you buy this thing, you'll want to get those wheels off of it. Again, check the archives on the importance of leveling the machine.

Have fun and be careful.

Fair warning, some here consider offerings from Clausing to be unmentionable on these pages.