What's new
What's new

B&S 9 to Morse Taper adapter?

Ultradog MN

Cast Iron
I have an old Millmaster milling machine that uses B&S #9 collet size. I will be using the mill as a drill press more than anything. Have a good Jacobs chuck with #2 Morse taper and a bunch of drill bits with #2 MT that I use in my lathe
Would like to find a sleeve or adapter so I can use the chuck and bits in the mill.
What is the best way to do this?
Does anyone make a BS9 to 2MT adapter to do this? What would it called and where would I look for such a thing?
Thanks

Does anyone make a BS9 to 2MT adapter to do this? What would it called and where would I look for such a thing?
I would start with bing or ecosia because google is evil, but if you search onsite here there have been several references to places that sell B&S #9 tooling.

I wouldn't hold my breath on a BS_9-to-2_Morse tho. Doesn't seem like that would be a big seller. You may end up making your own.

I think you got it backwards.
I need to go the other way.
Maybe this one would work?
I'd have to sleeve it down to 2 but that would be okay.

Brown & Sharpe Taper 9 to Morse Taper 4 Sleeve | eBay

They were never "in shortage" back in the day. I have several. B&S # 9 tail -> 2 MT and 3 MT socket. Some are just longer than others is all.

Easier yet, and also not at all uncommon, #9 B&S to JT-wotever. I have several in the drawers here with various sizes of Jacobs chuck already mounted.

Not selling. I happen to have three #9 B&S "consumers", one horizontal mill, one vertical, plus an indexer/DH (Ellis).

EBay should have what you need cheaply enough. More goods than active users for # 9 B&S these days.

They were never "in shortage" back in the day. I have several. B&S # 9 tail -> 2 MT and 3 MT socket. Some are just longer than others is all.

Easier yet, and also not at all uncommon, #9 B&S to JT-wotever. I have several in the drawers here with various sizes of Jacobs chuck already mounted.