What's new
What's new

B&S automatics

BSaddict

Plastic
Hello all. My name is Garret, 26 from northeast Ohio.
Its been about a year now that ive worked with brown and sharpe screw machines ranging from 00g, 0g, 2g and no.2 ultramatics. Ive done very little setting up. Only work with 1 other guy who knows the machinese VERY well. He is always busy setting up and i never get to learn anything.

Long story short, I am amazed by these machines and love them. Any and all knowledge anyone is willing to give me on them i will accept.

I am looking for a friend or two that enjoy talking about brownies, or even maybe someone local to me that would show me their shop.

There is a guy in here that owns a shop with quite a few of them I do believe, maybe he will show up.

I have no experience with these machines but know someone who had a couple of them but I believe got rid of them some time ago.
As I recall they can be had for very little money at times now since very few remain in operation .
Perhaps if your circumstances permit and you were to find a small one for sale and you had a place to run it you could learn some on your own by cleaning the machine up and doing some maintenance on it and set it up to make a simple part.
With time you could find your way and perhaps your friend at work or someone else might be able to come and help you or folks on forums like this one could help you along.
I know its not the same as having someone show you the ropes but there are some videos on line about Brown and Sharpe machines here.
Here is one
Closed down 6 years ago I think there was a post on this forum about this one but I can't find it at the moment .
tubalcain TAKES A FIELD TRIP #1 The Disassembling of America - YouTube
Here is one made by Brown and Sharpe
Brown & Sharpe sample from MasterTask Training - YouTube
If I remember Mr. Pete posts on this forum.
Not all Brown and Sharpe machines but still shows a lot of other setups