What's new
What's new

Lathe thread identification or advise

sharpener

Plastic
Hello all from St. Maarten Dutch West Indies. I am a beginner in the skill of metal machining and learning all I can. I have limited funds and would like to start from scratch by making my own lathe. To this end some time ago I bought a head and tail stock from Ebay. I have tried to find out what I have until I saw the website of Tony at lathes.co.uk and he identified and posted pictures I sent to him. He has said that I have the head and tailstock of a Sloan and Chase 4 1/2 lathe. Since then I have searched the web for information on this lathe. I have found old catalogs on archive.org. One specific bit of information I cannot find is the the type of threads that are on the spindle.
I would like to find a chuck to fit or advise how to modify or adapt a more modern chuck to fit may be an adaptor. I will pay for adaptor if one can be made.

Thank you for this forum.

Adapters (back-plates) can be made.

Your lathe part/spindle/nose thread may or may not be a "standard" size. Many, perhaps most were not. You can use a micrometer (digital vernier will do nicely) to get a read on the OD of the threads, and a "thread pitch gauge" will allow you to determine the threads per inch. Or failing in this second, you can correlate the threads you see which may be less than an inch total to what it would be IF it were to continue for that inch. I.e. 4 threads in 1/2 inch correlates to 8 threads per inch. Looking at standard charts online you should be able to tell if something is close.

If you find the threads ARE a standard size, you potentially could do this work - drilling a hole and threading a round backing plate using a standard tap - in a drill press. A lathe would be better.