What's new
What's new

Brush-type universal motor question

magneticanomaly

Titanium
I have a Master Appliance heat gun. Old, heavy duty, American-made. I love to fix and use such things.

Won't run.

Field windings show around 30 ohms each. Sounds like a probably okay range.

Armature is OPEN between ANY combination of commutator bars. I assume continuity should exist between diametrically-opposite pairs of bars? The armature looks clean, no discoloration of (green) varnish. Where I delicately scraped varnish away from wires near bars, have continuity between bar and wire.

Manufacturer has told me that a new armature for unit so old is not available, and the new model will not fit. They won't show me a drawing so I can see if I can make it fit, they say the new one is not electrically compatible, will not tell me details. Certainly a waste of their time as well as mine.

Obviously I have already spent more time on this than the cost of a lovely new Chinese throwaway heat-gun. (New Master $108, new Chinese $20-$50)

Just seems unlikely that EVERY coil is burned open, and none shorted, somewhere inside the armature, with no sign of distress at the surface.

Am I missing something real obvious?

Thanks to any who join me on this fool's errand, pleased to be of service to any who just want to laugh.