What's new
What's new

Capillary electrometer

JHOLLAND1

Titanium
Professor Gabriel Lippmann's capillary electrometer was core component of first electrocardiograph of Dr A Waller invention

superbly made legacy instruments

YouTube

Attachments

• `11.JPG
    `11.JPG
    49.3 KB · Views: 233
  • `22.JPG
    `22.JPG
    57.7 KB · Views: 126
  • `33.JPG
    `33.JPG
    94.2 KB · Views: 129
  • `.jpg
    `.jpg
    101.5 KB · Views: 133
JHolland:

Thank you for posting the youtube & accompanying pictures. The instrument in the youtube looks like something from an old physics laboratory, and seeing it work was quite interesting. While I was an undergraduate in engineering school, I worked in a variety of machine shops part time. One such shop, at the end of my undergraduate years, was the medical instrument shop at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Research Hospital in NYC. It was an opportunity to work on "fine work" rather than the heavier work I had been doing in other machine shops, and an exposure to working on surgical instruments as well as some of the radiation treatment and lab equipment.
By that point in time (1971), medical instruments had already come a long way from the instrument in this thread. Normally, if one sees photos of old medical instruments or diagnostic equipment, it is usually of "Roentgen" X-Ray apparatus. This instrument came as a bit of a surprise to me as I did not think the beginnings of electrocardiograms dates back as far as this thread describes. Seeing "Jimmy", the bulldog in the photos, he looks less than thrilled, but apparently produced a good and recognizable electrocardiogram on the greeting card.