What's new
What's new

Carroll-Jamieson lathe

Marc1122

Plastic
I have recently acquired a 16x60 Carroll Jamieson lathe. It is in nice working condition. This may be a long shot but I would like to find a taper attachment for it. Any information would be appreciated.

Well I'll be! I have been waiting quite some time for someone else to pop up and say they have one of these. I have a 15"x54 and it actually has a taper attachment (the more expensive telescoping one I believe) but I am missing one piece to it. I have had no luck finding any spare parts for this lathe and even a threaded back plate seems to be rare. Don't know if you need any other info or if you could shed light on this for me, but I will be glad to share what I have.

I just got this lathe. I am not a machinist by trade and this is my first decent sized lathe. I bought the machine for what I considered was a deal. It seems very tight and all the functions work as they should. I have a 3 jaw, 4 jaw, face plate and steady rest. As far as adapting any taper attachment I am not sure? I would ask any experienced machinists out there to weigh in on that. I have no problem adapting and fabricating but would like a little guidance if this is a possibility.

Marc has inquired and vossman has offered - assuming there is some resemblance between the vintages of the two lathes, why don't you two gents see if you can collaborate on reverse engineering?

It won't be easy - the telescoping job has very important parts you can't even see prior to complete disassembly right back to the cross slide handle

VM has these for what its worth

Carroll & Jamieson Machine Tool Co. - Publication Reprints | VintageMachinery.org