What's new
What's new

Champion Tool Works 12" Lathe - Carriage Auto Feed

drudel

Plastic
Hi, I just acquired a Champion Tool Works 12" Lathe from early 1900.
I do not have any documentation on usage, nor have I been able to find any.
I DO have the auto feed working for the cross slide, and I can start it, stop it, and change its directions.
I can't figure out how to get the autofeed working for the Carriage itself.
Does anyone have experience or instructions for this model?
I am including a picture of the full Lathe and a close up of the Carriage Controls with labels.
Thanks for the help,

DR

Lathe.jpg
Lathe Controls.jpg

The knob in the center of the apron, which you don't have labeled in your photo, looks like a friction clutch knob to me.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

The knob in the center of the apron, which you don't have labeled in your photo, looks like a friction clutch knob to me.

Thanks Andy, unfortunately, I am a beginner, so I don't know how to operate a friction clutch knob. What exactly would I need to do to engage the carriage auto feed using the friction clutch knob?
Thanks,
DR

Drudel:

If you turn that knob clockwise, it should draw in the cone (or plate) on a friction clutch within the apron. When you do this, the knob will begin turning along with the gearing for the power feeds, so don't be surprised. To disengage the clutch for the power feeds, turn the knob counter clockwise.