What's new
What's new

Deal or No Deal: Late 1930s RockFord Economy Lathe 12"

Robrods

Plastic
New Member! Been lurking for a few weeks & looking to buy my first lathe for personal use (I am registered on Home Machinist too). I am a total noob to machining; a computer guy by trade. I found a late '30s Rockford Economy lathe with 12" swing advertised locally. Being a noob, I am probably using the wrong search terms, so apologies if I missed a post to answer my question(s).

I inspected the lathe today and seeking opinions if I should buy & repair or am I better off walking (running) away. I've been looking at a new Precision Mathews 1228VF-LB for about $3500, so $$$ is the main reason for considering this option.

Issues: When operating the crossfeed manually, there is at least .050 of play when going forward to back. The main feed(?) there is play in the lead screw, I can see the whole shaft move when going from left to right (toward headstock versus toward tailstock), probably .020 to .030. The most troubling issue is when the half nut is engaged the lead screw stops turning. Are these problems major issues or can be reasonably repaired?

The positives are this has been converted to a 3hp 220hp V-belt driven motor, comes with 2 boxes of drill bits, misc tooling, and 2 massive chucks. After negotiating a bit, we are at $1,000 - pending research. So... deal or no deal?