What's new
What's new

Does any one know this vintage vise?

Lee Kim

Plastic
I recently got this vise and could not find any information. It seems to be rare with one single screw on type of bench vise. There is a marking of F outside, but with no manufacturer information. Please refer to the pictures. Appreciate if some one can help me. interested to know its value as well. Hope it is collectible. Thanks in advance.IMG_0069.jpgIMG_0070.jpg

Thanks, I cannot see any Hollands made with one screw-on hole. How can you tell it was broken and repaired? I am new to this sort of things.

Looks like a Hollands, made in Erie, PA. Not valuable or collectible, especially given that it has been broken and repaired.

Andy

Concur......any vise which has been broken, and brazed back together, has no real economic value. That said, it may have a bit of 'utility value' for light work if used gently.

That one is simply a relatively late model version (from its general outlines) of the early (1850's to 1910-ish) style of swivelling vise, held to the bench by that one screw. Those were often made with cast 'key' configurations on the bottom surface, to engage a notched base plate which would be bolted to the bench. They were then held down with a fairly large diameter, thick washer, and a 'rams-horn' pattern of nut, designed to be tightened with a bar of suitable diameter.

cheers

Carla

thanks for your information. Very informative. Is it around 1900 or later? I may pay too much for that. Thought it was rare.

Lee Kim: