What's new
What's new

EB McMahon shaper (was Looking for info...)

Bjkttr09

Plastic
I am new to all this stuff so please be patient with me. I found this machine and and bought it without really knowing what it is. from what I can tell it seems to be in working order. the lady said that it belonged to her husband for some time and he was using it up to the point when he passed. she did not know what to do with it and I didn't want to see it go to scrap or something like that. I think it is a metal shaper tool but not sure? I know when I turn it on it works but I dont know how to use it or what the value of the machine is. I would like to gather info about it and decide if it is something I can make use of or find someone who would be interested in it. any information on it would be greatly appreciated .

Attachments

• 20180705_194554.jpg
    20180705_194554.jpg
    82.2 KB · Views: 329
  • 20180708_162304.jpg
    20180708_162304.jpg
    95.8 KB · Views: 321
Last edited:
What you have there is a shaper. As far as I can see on your pictures it is in decent shape and even has the vice. Add a hss cutter and it is ready to go. The cutters can be ground yourself, but most likely there are/were cutters with it. If you don't have them it might be worth inquiring at the seller. If you search for shaper on YouTube you will find video's that show you what the machine does.

Peter

please quickly click the "Edit Post" button on your original post and then go to the "Go Advanced" button at the bottom. Change your title to something more descriptive, like "Looking for info about a McMahon (sp.?) shaper.

The reason you should do this is that the rules of this forum require a descriptive title.

We're happy to meet you, and we don't want to see this thread locked by the moderator!

Metalworking shaper, a distinct different animal from a woodworking shaper.

Lathes use a single point tool usually held in a movable tool holder to cut cylinders held between centers and turned.