What's new
What's new

Help Finding An Antique/Vintage Lathe Near Detroit

Atomic MT

Plastic
Hello, my name is Jason and I live in the Metro Detroit area. This is my first time posting here but I have been reading this forum for a long time. Hopefully I am posting this in the correct section.

I'm looking to set up a small shop in my garage consisting of antique/vintage machinery from the 1940s - 1960s. I want to start off with a lathe and then follow up with a mill (thinking about a Toolmaster). Since I'll be working out of my 2 car garage which already has a motorcycle lift, tool box and 3 motorcycles. Space is rather limited. More information about me and what I'm up to can be found in my Bio on my profile.

Just like pretty much everyone else, I have really fallen in love with the 10EE and that would be my first choice. Unfortunately I am not having much luck in finding something suitable in my price range which is under $3000. That includes transporting to my location. If I need to implement single phase power conversion for an additional cost later that is fine. I just need to buy it, get it here for under $3000 and have confidence that it will perform when I do get the power supply configured.

I did find a 1953 Monarch 10EE on FaceBook Marketplace for $2500 I'm still waiting to hear back from the seller, but it sounds like he purchased it from a family member who was in the middle of a VFD conversion 6 years ago. So it has not run in at least 6 years, maybe longer. I don't think it comes with any change gears and I'm concerned about the condition of the ways. Especially since it's been sitting for this amount of time. I also have to factor in a 600 mile round trip to go look/buy it since he is located outside of Chicago.

Referencing a post from a member here called ChipHeadWayne about 8 years ago. He says: