What's new
What's new

Help ID'ing a dividing-head with an MT3 spindle

VtSlowLearner

Plastic
Newbie here, please try to excuse my ignorance. I've owned an Emco Maximat 7 for almost 50 years mostly for hobby purposes, now in retirement am trying to expand my tooling and skill sets.
This week I have been cleaning up an old dividing head that has no manufacturer's name, trademarks, or anything else. Its basic design and overall size resemble a Brown & Sharp Model 0, including the ability to rotate it from horizontal to vertical or any angle in between. However, there is no sign at all of a direct indexing plate, the spindle thread is 1 1/2" x 10 tpi (not 8), and a #3 Morse taper seems to fit the spindle bore perfectly.
The only indexing plate that I have is 5" diameter, 1 1/4" bolt circle, and has ten sets of holes: 17,19,21,23,39,48,56,60,66, and 72.
I have been trying to disassemble for through cleaning and rust removal; have been able to dismount the gear box from the circular-dovetail base but so far cannot get inside the gearbox. The second photo illustrates the rear of the spindle. Everything in that cavity rotates with the spindle, but I was dismayed to find what looks like a driving key after managing to unscrew the threaded collar (shown on the workbench.)
Beyond simple curiosity, I hope that identifying this unit will lead to some ideas on how to finish disassembly, cleaning, and reassembly. It might also help in tracking down other index plates, and possibly work-holding options.
Is there a series of collets that fit into an MT3 taper?
Thanks very much...

Attachments

• DivHeadIndexPlate.jpg
    DivHeadIndexPlate.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 145
  • DivHeadSpindleRear.jpg
    DivHeadSpindleRear.jpg
    97.2 KB · Views: 158
I have seen a few copies of the B&S heads,most have mfg ids.