What's new
What's new

Help. Just purchased a Pratt and Whitney bench lathe

Browning1932

Plastic
I just purchased a Pratt and Whitney M-1689 bench lathe. I’m new to machining and need help with a few items. To begin with it’s not under power I haven’t gotten a phase converter yet. My first question is theres a collet in lathe how do I get it out. Second what do I need to convert it of a 3 jaw chuck. Third it came with a tool holder but no tooling what does this other use for tooling and finally I need a steady rest for the tailstock what size and style do I need. Here are a few pics

First thing to do is get a copy of How to Run a Lathe by the South Bend Company. Second, Google Images is your friend.
Have fun on your new journey in metal and machining. It is an endless and satisfying passion for many of us.
Best regards,
Chuck

Thanks Chuck. I’ll check out both of those options. Can any one tell me also how to post pics from my phone on this forum

How To Run A Lathe

All sorts of vintages available including this jam packed one from long ago

http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/1617/5795.pdf

P& W will likely have a "draw tube" passing thru spindle holding the collet in - these often have hand wheels on the left end that allows you to turn the draw tube to tighten or loosen the threads holding the collet in

Finding stuff for such an antique will be lots more trouble than just making what is needed

As to photos, here is a place to ask that question about doing it with the phone

Posting Pictures on the South Bend Forum

If an earlier No. 3 lathe, chucks are held on the spindle by the collet draw bar and a proprietary outside taper. If a 3C lathe, the chuck mount is a cam lock D1-2", which was only used on a couple very small lathes and is now obsolete. If a 4C lathe, I believe the spindle is D1-3".

Andy

Thanks guys for the help. I found the draw bar. Was unsure if I got it with the lathe. I will attempt to remove collet tomorrow