What's new
What's new

Hendey lathe

fiatdad

Plastic
I am looking at a Hendey lathe and was wondering what to be aware of.Here is the description.
Older machine showing its age and wear, but still works. Actual swing is 17+ inches. Has taper attachment, two 3-jaw chucks, one 4-jaw chuck, face plate, collet set-up and collets, tool post, steady rest, and more. Five horsepower 3-phase motor. $500.00 obo
He has said the cross feed ,clutch,gears on the feed and the ways are worn.
I am new to this and I thank you in advance for the help.
Nick

If the seller honestly admits to that much wrong..........you need to look for another lathe. I've been down this path and enthusiasm is no substitute for wear, however go look. It may not be that bad, just use your eyes and common sense. If there is perceptable wear on the ways it simply won't be accurate. Broken handles, chipped gear teeth and obvious abuse are all arguments for a lower price. The taper attachment and chucks are a plus, but if it is badly abused then in my opinion it would be worth perhaps scrap value for whatever parts you can salvage.

Advice:

1) Get the serial number and post it here. The records of the Hendey company still exist and are accessable to a member of this forum. [Hendeyman] He can tell you how the lathe was equipped when it left the factory.
2) IMHO $500 is a bit high but only a bit. Depends on how bad the ways are worn.
3) Read this advice on buying old lathes: http://www.mermac.com/advice.html
4) I'm with you on the worn gears on the feed. I am about to buy a drawing or two from Hendeyman to see what the gear on the left end of the spindle, and the one below it, was like when it left the factory. Mine are worn almost to sharp points. The feed train obviously rules the accuracy of threading.

I can almost guarantee that you will get $500 worth of fun and learning out of it even if it is quite worn. A Hendey was a Cadillac of lathes.

John Ruth