What's new
What's new

Hendey lathe Help

mbruce

Plastic
I just bought an old Hendey Lathe that was sitting in a barn for years. I was looking for something small but the price was right and the lathe seems to be tight and true. It runs smooth and I'm planning on using it in my shop. This is my first lathe and I'm a newbie. I'd like to find a manual, and learn more about it. The serial number is 13592. I'd also like to know what oil I should be using to lube the gears, and any other general maintenance I should be doing. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

I just bought an old Hendey Lathe that was sitting in a barn for years. I was looking for something small but the price was right and the lathe seems to be tight and true.

This is the first sign of the disease. Next you will find a mill for a good price and then there will be the need for more space.
Get some pics. Hendeyman will possibly be along in a while to give more info.
Meanwhile look up John Oder. He has some manuals that can be downloaded.

Here is the "manual" scan - interesting but not a great deal of how-to. Thanks to Greg Menke for hosting it for me:
http://pounceatron.dreamhosters.com/docs/hendey/1920-Hendey-manual.pdf

I'd also like to know what oil I should be using to lube the gears, and any other general maintenance I should be doing.

Whatever will stay on the gears will work. There are aerosol open gear lubricants that are very tacky.

The first thing I would want to know if it were mine is how the spindle bearing lube system is doing. The ball handled inspection plugs over the spindle bearings are there to check them daily. Basically, when you look in there with the spindle turning, you need to see the ring on top the journal turning with the spindle and bringing up clean THIN oil from the chamber under the bearing and dumping it on top the journal. A great oil for the oilers that fill these chambers is Exxon Mobil Velocite #10. No, the inspection plugs are not where you put the oil in.