Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Question Hendey Twin disc clutch not fully disengaging

Hello all! i'm new to machining and this is my first post so please be gentle

I got my first lathe, A grey and red 12 speed Hendey serial 36128, from HGR this past December and when I got it I really didn't know anything about it aside from that it was about the right size, all the important bits were there and it was cheap.
    unsurprisingly though, a sub $400 lathe has a few issues, mostly it seems it was run by people who didn't really care about maintaining it properly. so, for the past few months I have been pouring over post after post learning as much as I can trying to fix the various messes left behind and I am left with two things preventing me from taking my first cut:

#1: the saddle seems to have overheated, possibly from them putting grease in it, and really needs its own post
    #2: the spindle clutch

I'm not really certain whats wrong with it at this point, I tried adjusting it following Hendeymans instructions and found that even when the clutch is loose enough that I can turn the spindle and pulley in opposite directions by hand while its engaged it still won't stop creeping, I also tried adjusting the counterweight and the expandable rod (not sure what its really called) that's behind the lathe without much luck

I made this video showing how its behaving, with timestamps in the description:
    YouTube

and this is its HGR listing if you want to see pictures of the lathe itself:
    Used Hendey Lathe | HGR Industrial Surplus

I really hope I'm just missing something and that the clutch isn't trashed

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Sorry I don't have anything helpful to offer. My Hendey / twin-disc is a different model.