What's new
What's new

History of CNC

dclingingsmith

Plastic
I'm an economist working on a project about the diffusion of CNC in US metal manufacturing. I came across this forum while looking for information on the adaptation of CNC technology to non-metal materials such as wood. Is this a good place to ask for some help on this topic?

While your here since i am in Australia and note the difference to USA Why do you Tax Machine tools each year? PPT
Over here we do not do this. It seems sector based.
We have a goods and Services tax which is a one off tax, Governments sure do like to Tax things and get carried away with it.

I'm not a tax expert by any means, but my guess is taxes like this, which originated in the 19th century, were used because they were at that time easier to administrate than something like a value added tax or an income tax. I can't think of a good reason to have a property tax on machine tools in the modern era.

There was an excellent thread on old CNCs here a few years ago, like 2012 or something. There were machines shown in that thread still running mylar tape with GE controls, views of the control cabinet a nightmare of cards and wires, wires everywhere. I'm sure you've looked but if you dig through all the links on wikipedia there's quite a good history of CNC. From concept to Army involvement to automakers (it pretty much started out as a way to make helicopter spars). To the slack approach of U.S. machine tool makers to the overtake by Japan.

If you haven't read the book "Forces of Production" by Noble, you need to find and read a copy immediately.

If you haven't read the book "Forces of Production" by Noble, you need to find and read a copy immediately.

Excellent book!

To dclingingsmith - this forum will be predominately about metal CNC work, with plastic far behind, then wood and the like. If you give a little more context about why you're focusing on non-metals we might be able to help more.