What's new
What's new

(Intro and) Disassembling my new 32" Cincinnati shaper

Phriday

Plastic
Good morning, ladies and gents. I'm a concrete contractor on the Gulf Coast who has become interested in machine tools and machining. Over the past 2 years, I have bought several old machines at auction and from private buyers. I have a pretty nice shop that is being set up (this week, we're pulling out all the old electrical and prepping for new) and am beginning the process of restoring these old monuments.

The first one is a Cincinnati 32" shaper. The reason it's the first one is that as it sits, it's too heavy for our Bobcat to get it inside the building. I have removed the (10hp) motor and mounting brackets as well as the table, but it's still too heavy. Next is the ram, but I can NOT figure out how to get it off. It is disconnected from the rocker arm (is that what that part is called?) but I can't get clearance to shove the ram off the machine in either direction. The pivot on the rocker arm isn't down low enough to clear the ram. I think I have the stroke maxed out, but I don't know for sure.

The only other way I can see to get the rocker arm down low enough is to remove the pivot pin at the bottom of the machine, and I REALLY don't want to do that if I can avoid it. Am I missing something?

Thanks and it's a pleasure to meet you.

if its on a hard surface, jack it up and put lengths of tube under it to roll it to where you would like it.

But agree get the right tools makes it get done quicker and safer. ie forklift.

If you strip the machine to a bare casting your bobcat most likely won't be able to pick it. A track machine might. Go with street's idea, but use solid instead of tubing, as long as your floor is level. If the floor has a slope, rent a forklift. Removing the ram on a shaper usually means removing the keepers on either side of the ram and lifting straight up. Be aware the keepers will require careful and proper fitting for re installation.