What's new
What's new

Jacobs 14, not 14N chuck

godzilla2k69

Plastic
Restoring an Atlas 1425 drill press from the 30's. On it is a Jacobs Super Chuck 14.
How do I remove the shank ? There isn't a slot for wedges.
What's the difference between a 14 and a 14 N ?
This chuck has scripted text on it and 3 patent dates.
Any suggestions on how to get this apart without damage would be appreciated.

A Jacobs chuck with a Jacobs taper mount that have been together for 80 years probably will not separate without destroying one or both components.

As I recall, the sleeve design (gripping surface) was changed at some point and the N might mark that point, along with possibly different rebuild kits.

Larry

Would the rebuild kit for a 14N work on a 14 ?
I'm an electronic tech. Not a machinist. Where do I look for those kits ?

The box for the kit will have a list of the chuck models that the kit will fit. Here is a U14N kit and it does not say it will work on a 14 chuck.

JACOBS Chuck #U14N Repair Kit NOS for Model # 14N MACHINIST TOOLMAKER CLEAN | eBay

You look for low priced old stuff on eBay. It is easier to find a used chuck than a NOS rebuild kit. There are several used 14N chucks on eBay now.

Unfortunately, the Jacobs name is now put on products that are made in China. There are better new chucks for lower prices. A new Jacobs ball bearing 1/2" chuck may cost more than your drill press is worth, and a new jaw kit might cost half the price of a new chuck. I installed a new kit on an old super chuck body years ago and found that the body was worn out, so the chuck was still useless after installing the new parts. The cost of the old chuck and the new kit was a loss.

The lowest price I saw for a new Chinese Jacobs 14N is $157.40. The highest was $275.39.

Jacobs JCM30221 $157.40 14N Ball Bearing Super Chuck 1/2" | Zoro.com
Jacobs 14N | 0" - 1/2" 3JT Ball Bearing Geared Chuck - All Industrial Tool Supply