What's new
What's new

King VTL at auction in Oswego NY

Auctions International has a King VTL at auction in Oswego NY. It belongs to the NYS Canal Corp. I hope someone buys this to use it and not for scrap. Auctions International - Auction: NYS Canal Corp-Phoenix-NY #19650 ITEM: King Vertical Lathe
Dave
No side head, and I've driven one enough to wear me out, king 48"

There are plenty of more modern ones available for just above scrap with pushbuttons for feed levers, digital readouts, etc.

And you don't go home each night so tired.

I have no experience with that machine, but I would certainly agree on get the most bang for your buck if you want a biggin like that.

I have a 4" HBM with all the whistles and bells- Power clamping, rapids, push buttons do everything and it's not an easy job to make shop rate with it.

There are plenty of more modern ones available for just above scrap with pushbuttons for feed levers, digital readouts, etc.

I think the ram would more than make up for the lack of side head for the vtl work I dabble in.

A lot of the cheap newer bullards have some issues with all the fancy electrical and hydraulic systems. At least the old levers/clutches usually just work. Not sure I'd want to go all the way back to a line shaft machine though.

I think the ram would more than make up for the lack of side head for the vtl work I dabble in.

A lot of the cheap newer bullards have some issues with all the fancy electrical and hydraulic systems. At least the old levers/clutches usually just work. Not sure I'd want to go all the way back to a line shaft machine though.
Have you driven a Bullard lately ?

They have the option of two end turrets (as you see on the King) and the side head.

Pinch turning or facing while boring while turning the O.D. etc.

all with pushbutton controls and no weakness anywhere.

Have you driven a Bullard lately ?

They have the option of two end turrets (as you see on the King) and the side head.