L&S Model X 14" HD oil leak
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default L&S Model X 14" HD oil leak

I have a 14" HD L&S Model X, the one that has the slide ruler type speed chart. Runs great but just developed an oil leak at the spindle just behind the D1-6 plate. Not too bad, 1 drip in 30 seconds. I've owned it for at least 10 years with no leaks. I have the parts manual and Slinger Rings are shown as seals. Anyone have information on why it started leaking?

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Wrong oil -foaming ,over full ,drain from bearing restricted/plugged.

3. Likes Limy Sami liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

drain from bearing restricted/plugged
    Would be my guess if not overfill

No rubbing seals for sure

Next time you move it tilt it up and watch the oil run out

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I have been using the lathe for 10 years and not a drop. Could it be the oil is low and the pump is causing it to foam? I have not added oil, only thing I've done was remove the top cover and put on Permatex gasket sealant to stop it from leaking, I did run the motor to confirm oil was pumping. It has a sight glass on the front near the filter/strainer but it's dark and I can't see what I think is supposed to be an oil stream. Looks to be another sight glass on the reservoir but the electrical control panel is mounted in front of it. This lathe has no oil in the headstock (I think) oil is in the reservoir. Both sight glasses are the same, the push in type so I'm not sure how to remove them. I might remove the front one, if I damage it I'm sure I can make another.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)