What's new
What's new

L&S Model X 14" HD oil leak

Froneck

Titanium
I have a 14" HD L&S Model X, the one that has the slide ruler type speed chart. Runs great but just developed an oil leak at the spindle just behind the D1-6 plate. Not too bad, 1 drip in 30 seconds. I've owned it for at least 10 years with no leaks. I have the parts manual and Slinger Rings are shown as seals. Anyone have information on why it started leaking?

I have been using the lathe for 10 years and not a drop. Could it be the oil is low and the pump is causing it to foam? I have not added oil, only thing I've done was remove the top cover and put on Permatex gasket sealant to stop it from leaking, I did run the motor to confirm oil was pumping. It has a sight glass on the front near the filter/strainer but it's dark and I can't see what I think is supposed to be an oil stream. Looks to be another sight glass on the reservoir but the electrical control panel is mounted in front of it. This lathe has no oil in the headstock (I think) oil is in the reservoir. Both sight glasses are the same, the push in type so I'm not sure how to remove them. I might remove the front one, if I damage it I'm sure I can make another.

Yes to low oil with pump sucking air. Figure out how to check oil level and add if needed . If pump is not submerged below the oil level supply pipe [or whatever] may be allowing air leakage on suction side.If these items check OK blocked oil return at the bearing most likely. Had a 18" ENCO lathe with splash lube and would leak at the front bearing if I ran it over 4-500 rpm. Partial cure was to put a restriction in the 3/8 or so oil feed drilling,1/8 " or so hole in restriction fitting.

May be the rear sump style? - pump has to pull the oil up and on to the distribution trays. Sump is low, bolted to bottom of rear head stock casting. Need to be able to SEE oil in its pair of sight glasses, one over the other