What's new
What's new

Large South Bend Turret Lathe in need of rescue - North Texas

MayerMR

Plastic
Gentlemen,

I'm new to this forum, but I wanted to join and make this post so I can *hopefully* find someone who can rescue and old South Bend turret lathe before it gets hauled to the scrapper by the middle of next month. I'm just getting into metal working myself, but I am experienced in the restoration of old/antique tools and other items and I'd just hate to see a piece of history like this get chopped to bits.

So the good, the owner doesn't want much...he just wants the scrap value and I think he'd be thrilled to get a couple hundred dollars. The lathe seems complete, as far as I can tell.

The bad - the lathe has been sitting outside for a number of years and would need a full restoration.

The lathe is located in Texas, just north of Plano. If interested, please let me know and I will put you in contact with the owner, or even help coordinate as best I can.

I truly have no business interest or reason to be posting this other than trying to help preserve a bit of history.

IMG_20180706_185054.jpg

IMG_20180706_185126.jpg

IMG_20180706_185117.jpg

IMG_20180706_185102.jpg

I apologize in advance if I have broken any rules; I found out about this recently and need to run to a meeting. I'll be checking in on this thread and my PMs as much as possible if there is any interest.

S/F,

-Matt

I have to say that is an interesting switch arrangement on the headstock. I assume the lever to the right is "off", as that's where the notch is allowing the belt cover to be opened.

Clever little bit, and clearly factory as they all look like cast pieces.

I'd take it if it were local.

Doc.

I have to say that is an interesting switch arrangement on the headstock. I assume the lever to the right is "off", as that's where the notch is allowing the belt cover to be opened.

Clever little bit, and clearly factory as they all look like cast pieces.