What's new
What's new

Lathe identification

AntonC

Plastic
Hi all

I'm relatively new to machining, and I've been on the lookout locally for tools, and I saw this for sale.
Can anyone identify it? The photos are not very clear, and before I follow up, I'd like to know some more about it, or at least if anyone recognises the logo.

Thanks!

Anton

58695726_10155882183247047_2868116071494189056_n.jpg

Hi all

I'm relatively new to machining, and I've been on the lookout locally for tools, and I saw this for sale.
Can anyone identify it? The photos are not very clear, and before I follow up, I'd like to know some more about it, or at least if anyone recognises the logo.

Thanks!

Anton

View attachment 261265

Looks like an early R&D prototype that mutated into these:

https://www.ebay.com/i/123720142342...MI9JqvgrW_4wIVkYvICh1PGwfpEAQYBCABEgJLyvD_BwE

Which by reputation and long use, proved more successful at their assigned tasking.

:(

Short answer? Run, do not walk....

Given the flat ways, might this not be an early one of the line of lathes named after a Greek God?

The Greek God association we're not to discuss - we're an "Industrial" forum and those that foot the bill would care that the subject matter remains industrial.

Still, it looks old, possibly now to be considered antique, and as such we might give it a go IF we don't mention the name outright.

Maybe henceforth, unless someone comes up with the actual manufacturer, we can call this one "Lathe who should not be named?"

Joe in NH

Sounds like fun.

Hey, new users have to start SOMEWHERE. What I saw beats a Craftsman 109 lathe, which is where I began.

Joe in NH