What's new
What's new

lead screw function

steelsponge

Aluminum
A few years back I bought a Lodge and Shipley 5 step conehead lathe. It was determined by John Oder that it was made in 1908. I never did post any pictures but I will within the next two weeks. Why I haven't gotten farther is a long story. So here is my question. Keep in mind while I'm not totally new to the machine I am fairly new to understanding function in detail.
I have done a lot of cleaning, replaced motor leads and tested motor. I have removed the spindle and the headstock. More cleaning and ready for paint.
The lead screw is completely attached to the bed of the lathe. The gear train that would drive the leadscrew is of course disengaged. The gear on the far left end of the leadscrew that slides on the keyed shaft is in tact. The four position thread selector box has been removed. Everything else, the carriage, apron and cross slide are all in place. What is the most efficient, and safe way to turn the leadscrew by hand so as not to mar, bend or chip a tooth on the far left gear. Half nut disengaged and the feed lever in the neutral position I imagine?
Number 2. The 5 step conehead has 2 allen set screws. One in the large pulley and one in the small pulley. I believe these are for removing so one can squirt a little oil down onto the internal part of the spindle. The allen set screw on the large pulley threaded thru thanks to me and is bouncing around a little in side the cavity of the pulley. To get it out should I just drill slightly larger hole, get a long skinny magnet retrieve it, and retapp the oil hole for a larger set screw? Thank you all for reading. Any and all information and ideas is greatly appreciated. Clyde