What's new
What's new

Locomotive Boiler Explosion

Thank you for posting this article. It was interesting reading it, particularly since I have some experience with engineering on steam locomotive boilers.

In recent years, we are fortunate to have ultrasonic thickness gauging available. We use it as a required method of inspecting boilers and determining their fitness for service based on minimum thicknesses found. UR is only a partial means of evaluating a boiler's condition.

When steel plate is used for the sheets (any parts of a locomotive boiler formed from plate is known as a "sheet"), the direction of rolling is marked on the plate. This lets the rolling direction (similar to the grain in a piece of lumber) be oriented properly in relation to the direction of stress which will be developed in that sheet when the boiler is containing pressure. For many years, in the USA, we use a minimum factor of safety of 5. This means that, if steel plate used to build a boiler had a minimum tensile strength of 60,000 psi, the maximum allowable tensile stress is 12,000 psi.

I have been doing the engineering to design a new firebox for a steam locomotive out in the western part of NY State. The boiler dates to 1920, so was built with riveted construction. The new firebox will be built using welded construction, with the sheets flanged to make the corners of the firebox rather than simply making squared corner seams. I have had two conference calls with the United States Federal RR Administration about the job. The most recent call lasted about an hour, and the FRA was asking engineering questions, particularly as to what factor of safety I was using in my design, and type of staybolts. They also questioned me about how the welded seams would be run, and about the replacement of the foundation ring (also known as the mud ring)- which I called for in my design.