Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by SouthBendModel34 View Post
    I've got an old MH with a protective cover made out of drafting linen.
    (How many of the younger PM members even know what that is? )
    I will admit that I am not sure, even though I had drafting in school, it is the large paper that you use to draw on, or at least when I was in high school. I graduated high school in '76 so you can figure approx. how old I am by that. That is noteworthy though, since my generation didn't have computers in high school, the Apple IIe came out in '78. As such, they still taught drafting in school. As a kid I loved those mechanical drafting pencils, with the big lead in them. Had a set of jaws that secured the lead in...I love mechanical $#!T...

I just got a book that has what appears to be a some type of vinyl with some type of linen backing. You can see the linen on the back of the cover, in the first pic. This is such a nice cover, it looks like a book binder type craftsmen may have done something like that, but it looks stitched and fits very tightly, a very good job. I have this book already but saw it listed online and picked it up as the one I had was missing a couple pages. Not that I needed them, this is a very useful book also. The cover of the book is dark red/maroon. Thanks to Harry, this is definitely a great book.

In your case, wasn't the old drafting paper that was used on the large drafting tables what you speak of?

tlom-under-cover.jpgtlom-outside-cover.jpgtlom-title-page.jpg

Cheers,
    Alan (only one Machinist's Handbook, and owns a magnifying glass so I can read the one i have! )

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Joe in NH View Post
    BINGO on that Repop Machinery's Handbook.

See Machinery's Handbook Collector's Edition: 1914 First Edition Replica | Industrial Press