What's new
What's new

Mercer 500 Drill Press conversion into Soag paper drill; advice on changing it back.

MrRivers

Plastic
Hi,

I am completely new to posting on this forum, so apologies if I am in the wrong place. Been lurking here for a while when I needed information so I thought I would ask.

I'm also completely new to machining. I've been fascinated by the process for years, particuarly watching people use old lathes and shapers on youtube, but only recently had the space to get my own gear and start learning. As such, I'm a complete layman.

Someone was selling what they were advertising as a bench drill in my city, and after going to check it out, I paid for it and got it home. I strongly suspected it was a drill press, perhaps a meddings from the pictures, from the 1970's, but the only maker's mark it had on it was SOAG, a company I had never heard of, and was not in the pictures when it was advertised. When I got it home, my suspicions were confirmed; I had gotten myself an immaculate british made drill press from the 1970's for less than a brand new pillar drill.

After doing some research on the maker's marks, I came to the conclusion it was one of these, a Mercer 500:

http://www.lathes.co.uk/mercer-drill/img7.jpg

Link to the full post on it:

Merecer Drill Press