What's new
What's new

Metal Shaper(s)

Dtapster

Aluminum
I'm looking at two 8" shapers. Both are in my locale and owned by friends. One is a Logan made in 1953 and the other is a Brodhead-Garrett made in 1966 or later (have the SN but no exact date as yet). Both seem to be in nice shape and both have been in storage for several years; they were used in home machine shops.

The B-G is obviously newer, has a 3 phase 3/4 HP motor (I have an RPC) and a few other features the Logan does not, the heavier duty vise being one.

The Logan is older, has single phase 1/2 HP motor and was refurbished several years ago.

The asking price for the Brodhead-Garrett is in the $900 range (maybe get it for $850); no firm price on the Logan yet but it will be less.

Would appreciate comments and recommendations from the braintrust here.

Thanks,

Doug

I've never operated either brand, and I'm only a hobbyist so not part of the brain trust. But a shaper is a shaper. And like any machine tool, way surface condition and lack of wear is everything. Unless either of those shapers had working oil pumps or oil cups and they were always looked after properly, it's not unlikely to see scoring on the ram ways, highly worn bushings etc. Then check the Scotch yoke and bull gear assembly, any missing teeth on that bull gear would instantly kill the deal for me. Any missing parts, belt guards etc can turn a machine tool purchase into a large money pit even if you can find the used parts. Convenience aside, I'd always chose 3 ph over any single ph motor. But the Logan has one thing going for it the B-G doesn't. Parts drawings are available for it. Dimensioned Drawing Set For Logan 8" Shaper Neither brand were built in the numbers the South Bend and A##as shapers were, so any used parts would probably be a whole lot tougher to find.