What's new
What's new

need help identifying lathe.

stevet330

Plastic
Hi everyone,
im new to this forum so forgive me if this is in the wrong place.im new to lathes so i thought i would buy something small to mess around with so i picked this one up from ebay but the seller didnt know the make either.ive not received it yet so only got pics to go on any info would be great(what the levers do,chuck thread size etc)i would like to put a slightly bigger chuck on if possible also i have a 1/3 hp motor off a pillar drill to go on it .would that be big enough.thanks in advance.
Cant seem to upload pics atm but if anyone wants to look at it the item number on ebay uk is 110824505867.

Attachments

• $(KGrHqV,!osE8VqW(WNvBPO!NeQ6h!~~60_12.jpg
    $(KGrHqV,!osE8VqW(WNvBPO!NeQ6h!~~60_12.jpg
    32.5 KB · Views: 365
  • $(KGrHqF,!qEE8W()iFc,BPO!ODYBSQ~~60_12.jpg
    $(KGrHqF,!qEE8W()iFc,BPO!ODYBSQ~~60_12.jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 391
Last edited:
I'm not so sure about that "he who cannot be named" designation. The lever below the headstock I've not seen before.

For such a lathe a 1/3 hp should work just fine. Just be sure to get the correct "turn down" and try not to turn the spindle too fast.

Somewhere on the 'net is information on existing lathes of similar produced sizes which will tell you spindle speeds. You could look at VintageMachinery.org | Welcome for (vintagemachine.org) and find one similar in size. Likely someone has loaded a catalog cut over there which tells spindle speeds.

Hope this helps. We try to help when we can.

Joe

It might be AA products. Definitely not craftsman. I have seen variants of the
AA products lathes that really do legitimately defy the ban here, as they are vintage
enough to slide in under the wire.

This one, if AA, is a very rare version with a different spindle than the usual version.
Those tended to have v-ways whereas this seems to be flat ways. It's not an atlas.