What's new
What's new

New guy with a Putnam Lathe and Index Mill model 40H

acbutton

Plastic
First post- Ive been lurking for the past couple of months since I brought home my Putnam Lathe. 14" swing, approx 40" of usable bed. Hollow legs with stowage compartment with patent dates through 1879 on cover/door. Original black paint. It's in good shape, not a neglected resto project. From the limited info available, I'm estimating it's circa 1880-1892. Plain cross slide currently in place probably replaced an original rise and fall, but I'm still learning. Finally joined the forum to learn more.

This is a new direction for me- no machinist experience. I'm used to complicated accurate work as a formally apprenticed full time sculptor in the granite industry, mostly memorials in granite and marble with some bronze work. Website is www.carolinasculpturestudio.com and has link to my studio YouTube channel. I also do some Metalshaping/panelwork. The goal is to use this lathe and my even more recently-acquired Index Mil 40H (very nice) to make tooling for my HandBuilt English Wheel, Gairu M18 (made in Spain Pullmax P8/P9 equivalent) and Pexto 0617 bead roller.

Ive come to understand that Joe in NH and Peter are Putnam people to listen to... I also understand that pics are mandatory currency. This iPad was probably obsolete when my lathe was still new, so the little whirly thing is still whirling but pics aren't squeezing through the hole. I'll get pics on here soon, even if I need to do them on another device.

Um. Probably one of those "frogleg" Putnams. They have an attraction all their own. Described very nicely often without attribution in Joshua Rose's "Modern Machine Shop Practice" Volume 1. The two later revisions (1890s Edition 2, 1900s Edition 3) would have more on the later lathes.