Login to Your Account
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default New to me Hendey!! I'm Excited!!

I'm an amateur machinist but the son of a great tool-maker. Started on a old Craftsman(Atlas) 12".
    A good friend gave me his old Hendey because he said the headstock was worn out and needed rebuilt. I see the posts on how to do this and may need help in the future, but the main question today is, What year is this thing? Serial number 10150

His dad purchased it in 1964 and he's been running it since he was 14 in 1964. I told him I would research the history before that.Thank you!! My first "big" lathe!!
    img_0347.jpg

2. Likes 3512B, RCPDesigns, Doozer liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Well before Hendyman weighs in with the facts, I'll give a guess of 1922.

I can see the clamping lever indicating it has the taper attachment on it (a nice bonus).

What's the swing, and bed length?

I can't say I agree with parking an arbor press on the ways though : )

Congrats on your new old lathe.

Steve.

Sent from my SM-J737P using Tapatalk

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

It's a 16" by 4 foot?
    I tried to get him to throw in the arbor press but it was a no go.
    Yes Taper attachment even works according to him. He had tears in his eyes as we loaded it. I ask, "tears of joy or sadness?". He said "both.....I spent 56 years making bike parts on this thing." I'm proud he trusted me to take on the project!
    Plus I got the original 4 jaw and face plate.

5. Likes dalmatiangirl61 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Natez14:

Hendey lathe No. 10150, a 16 x 7 Cone Head model, was scheduled for completion during the last week of August 1908. It was shipped with a